Avoid Getting Scammed?

Smitzel269

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
On my local craigslist, I found a Canon Rebel t3i for only $430, which is of course a great deal. In the ad, they say that it's brand new and has only been opened to see if everything works. If it's still available, I will go to look at it. I'm new to DSLR cameras, so I was wondering if there's a check list to make sure everything is working right. I don't want to sit there for an hour just playing with it. I know that I should make sure it turns on and takes pictures and all of the buttons work, but what else? Too bad you can't trust anybody these days :/ Thanks.

well, did you reply back? send a reply and see what the seller says. I bet he will ask you to send money oversea trough some fishy bank. dont fall into that.

Oh no... I won't be doing anything unless it's in person. I noticed it was fishy also, which is why I want a checklist.

I haven't bought anything on craigslist, but I sold my D5000 on craigslist. I took my laptop and let the buyer take 20-30 pictures with both lenses, downloaded them right there and let him look at the results. That's how it should be done. Money shouldn't change hands unless you are 110% satisfied and comfortable.

Sounds like a scam, no way it's $430 for a brand new t3i. I've been buying and selling on craigslist for years and never had a problem. Always meet in public, the buyer or seller would usually would suggest it. If they don't, it's a bit fishy. Before I recommend meeting anywhere, usually they would pick a public place before I can say anything. Make sure, product in hand or money in hand at the same time as the exchange. No hold on, let me get money in the car and they're holding your stuff. They can just lock the door and drive off with it.

If it seems too good to be true, it probably is. It was a scam.

he will probably say he is in London right now for work... blah blah blah