B&W tips

stroker

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Anybody out there have tips on what makes a good B&W photograph?
Im looking to get some of those breath taking shots soon and really up my game. What should I look for in things like compositon, angle, and lighting? Should I meter different for B&W to get a better contrast with a true black and a true white in the same shot?
Anything helps,
thanks for looking

i would love to know too, my knowledge in B/W isn't great either.

Composition and lighting are subject and photographer dependent. Can't really give tips other than study compposition, and then go find your interpretations in your subject. No two people handle the subject before them the same way.

Good luck!

I am no expert in B&W, but I can offer a little input. Since there is no color, black and white relies strictly on tones. So the more variance in tone, or interesting tones that you have in a scene the better b&w it will make. This is sometimes very obvious advice, but it is sometimes hard to visualize a scene in a different way since you see in color. Try shooting in RAW+JPEG(monochrome) that way the LCD will display the monochrome image but the RAW will still be there for better flexibility.

As for getting good contrast, you can do all of that in post. Using levels, gradiant maps, color balance, B&W adjustment layers, etc. There are many different ways to get to that point.

Also, there is software that many people like that NikSoftware makes called SilverEFX.

Understanding color is very important.
What ?
Yes, you have to understand how a color appears in monotone.

What you see in color may/will not be as exciting in B+W.
Look at the scene in terms of tone ... and it will make you a better B+W photographer.

Example ... this photo:
lake.jpg

The forest is green, and water is powder blue.