Backyard Macro, C&C most desired!!!!!!!!!!!

pathoulihan1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Some fungus growing on my fence, the back portion is a bit oof but, I really enjoy all things fractal, and this to me screamed fractal.

DSC05131.jpg

I was going for a bit of a macroscape here, but even if I didn't achieve it I liked the way this one came out. Let me know what you think!

DSC05106.jpg

There's a fungus among us, I really liked the color here.

DSC05105.jpg

Is it a trampoline spring serving as the home of a grass spider, or is it a much smaller version of Shelobs lair?

DSC05093.jpg

This fungus reminded me of big breaking waves and a foamy sea.

DSC05050.jpg

Feel free to give feedback on composition, and on the technical aspects of the shots. I'm still learning, and bound by my equipment (Sony DSC-HX1, don't get me wrong I love the camera, but it isn't a DSLR and I can only put a telephoto converter lens on it). But! That being neither here nor there I'd really like some feedback on these. I'm personally fairly proud of them, but I'd like to improve.

Last edited:
IMHO...
#1 Needs better separation of subject from surroundings. More drama for the subject via lighting, contrast etc. Like the angle of view. Less DOF and focusing on the front edge plus moving in a little closer might do it.
#2 Looking up the tree gives the blue sky, but in turn it makes the image busy. What exactly is the subject here? Dividing the image into thirds (top to bottom) is good idea.
#3 Don't think the lighting worked here. Careful of the blue casting. Busy to upper right and cuts into the subject. Angle of view is good.
#4 Get rid of the fungus and you would have a nice photo here! The spring has interest and good composition - needs just a bit more DOF(?)