Basic Kit

Abstract

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am a totall newbie to this (but majorly addicted!!) so what I'm asking is whats your basic set up? My camera is a canon 350D and I have the kit lens but am borrowing a friends 100mm sigma lens but that has to go back soon. I know I'll be needing a new lens the first I'd like to buy is a good all-rounder so if you have any suggestions as to what is best for someone just now learning the basics that'd be fab. But what other basic stuff do you carry? Camera bag, tripod etc any good brands, models etc? sorry for such newbie questions but weall gotta learn some how :p

Thank you in advance for your help :hail:

What do you shoot most often? Landscapes, portraites, abstract, macro? That will help with the lens selection. But no matter what you shoot, you can't go wrong with a 50mm f/1.8...good rounded lens to always have handy.

at the moment my main interests are animal portraiture, wildlife and macro I know what macro lens I fancy I just can't afford it ;) decisions decisions!!!