Beginner camera....cheap Sony or Canon 5D

labatt50

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,
I'm going to pass one month in Philippine in January and I want something better to my small point and shoot camera.

I'm still new to photo shooting. I'd use my mother 35mm film camera before, a Minolta Maxxum 5, but always on automatic mode. I want to learn more about shooting. I like to take underwater picture when I dive. I like to take landscape and building picture too. I'd use my mother's camera for my sister wedding last summer with a black and white film. Pic was great, but I'm sure I could do better if I had leaved the automatic mode :)

Because of the kind of picture I want to shoot (underwater and landscape), a full frame body would be the best for me.

I read during the last few days many reviews and many forums pages about the different brand and model. I put on the side Nikon already. Their Canadian warranty sucks too much for me (I'm Canadian). So that leaves me with Sony and Canon.

I can have access to my mother's lens, a Minolta AF 28-100 and a Sigma 7-300 that will fit on a Sony body.

I see presently 2 options for me:
1) Buy a cheap Sony body, use my mother's lens and maybe buy old Minolta(they are sold pretty cheap presently) and learn how to shoot and later sell/give the body and buy a new high end Canon full frame(like the 5D mkII that seem to be pretty nice). Investing in some Sony lens isn't an option, not enough underwater housing available for Sony body. So I'll need to get rid of it later (my mother will be happy when she'll receive it).