Beginner Camera?

endofnight

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello all.

I am not a professional photographer. I just really enjoy taking pictures. That being said I want a camera that can take AMAZING pictures. I would describe myself as a "beginner" photographer.

The camera I use now is a Canon Powershot A530. You can see it here:

[ame=http://www.amazon.com/Canon-PowerShot-Digital-Camera-Optical/dp/B000EMU888]Amazon.com: Canon PowerShot A530 5MP Digital Camera with 4x Optical Zoom: Camera & Photo[/ame]

I am looking for a great camera that can take amazing pictures. So far I am very impressed with the Canon 5d Mach II. The HD video quality blows my mind! The pictures are equally impressive. I won't lie. The fact that this camera can take HD video is a big part of why I want it!

This is an expensive camera. I have no problem saving up the money for it. I just dont want to waste a bunch of money when I can get something equally as good for a lower price. Also, I have read about a beginner who bought a 5d mach II and it took them 9 months to learn how to to use it! Would it be "right" for a beginner like myself or is there another camera that can take equally amazing pictures for cheaper?

I would basically be using this camera for EVERYTHING. Taking pictures of my friends, concerts, nature, still objects, portraits, my 6 year old niece running around, etc...

I would greatly appreciate any information. Thanks for your time.

All cameras work the same way, they just have buttons in different places.

No camera makes AMAZING photos, just the same as no gun ever killed a person.

Pick a lens system that you like, probably Canon or Nikon, and then buy a camera that fits on them.

I suggest the Canon t2i. It costs $800 and you can get a 50mm lens for it for $89. As a beginner it will be easy for you to learn on and as a hobbiest you are never going to out-grow it.