Beginner Here! Sony A33

perfectlyposedsg

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi! I am new to learning how to take professional photography. I have always had a love of photography, but to be honest never knew what REALLY went into taking beautiful photos. I am sitting here thinking wow I took beautiful photos and after doing some research and reading. They aren't as great as I first thought. Does anyone have any tips or tricks to share with me about using my Sony A33 to take pictures? or just for taking photos in general? Thanks!!

10703681_308918302647647_121897883278651748_n.jpg
10509653_308918802647597_5399385588929639723_n.jpg

Welcome!

#1 you cropped the child's head. Hold your camera in portrait pose anytime the composition might look better in portrait aspect ratio. (more of an experience thing)

#2 the white balance and exposure are off.

I like the 1st one, though the head is kinda cropped off.
The second, the kid just looks evil lol.

Welcome!

#1 you cropped the child's head. Hold your camera in portrait pose anytime the composition might look better in portrait aspect ratio. (more of an experience thing)

#2 the white balance and exposure are off.

Thanks! I didn't really even realize how much his head was cropped. Again, completely new to this. also I need help with my white balance and exposure. are there any tutorials you could recommend?

My tip is about composition. In portraiture, if the subject is taller than it is wide, the appropriate framing is almost always vertical framing. On a standing child, or a seated child shown from head-to-waist, a TALL framing is almost always better than a horizontal framing, which shows the subject in the central part of the frame, and then has a lot of dead, empty space. Subject/Framing coordination is the mark of a skilled photographer.