Best cameras under 500$ under 1000$ ???

Sunnylee

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a Kodak EasyShare Z1285 Digital camera that I bought at wal-mart for like 100-300 bucks, can't remeber now. Well it is an ok camera but I think I want to upgrade a bit.

The most important feature to me would be a camera that can take multiple photos on it's own, like a camera with a timer, only one that takes more then just one or two photos before you have to go reset it again.
Is there cameras with a setting like that?

Sorry if a stupid question, I'm not a pro, I just want to be a suicide girl so I need to be able to take muliple photos. They expect 40-70 photos per set, and that's the final cut after you filter out all the bad ones. To get a better idea of what I am trying to accomplish look here....BUT FIRST BE WARNED IT CONTAINS NUDITY SuicideGirls

I will probably work with pros but for now I want to get some practice on my own.

Last edited:
Best camera under $500 that you can buy new, easy: Nikon D40, or if you can find one, Rebel XTi. I sold the last one at our ritz last week for $399. The D40 is $450.

Best camera under $1000, tie between the Nikon D5000 and the Rebel T1i. When we made prints at work, the D500 had better ISO 6400 performance, more AF options, just as fast, and the tilt-a-screen is pretty handy for video, but the rebel has that 920,000 dot screen and better ISO100 resolution.

If you're shooting auto, just get the D40 and another lens, a tripod, and some cool filters. Save your money, don't overbuy.

The D5000 though does have that intervelometer, which will make it shoot pictures, on its own, at a set frequency over a specified amount of time. For example, you can set it to shoot a picture every 5 seconds, every 30 minutes, every 22 seconds for 4 hours and so on..

So if you want to shoot pictures of a construction site and create a time-lapse video, the 5000 can do the grunt work on it's own.