Best lens for range of different environments

sbshields

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all,

This is my first time posting on a camera forum so bear with me.

I have a Canon 600D camera body. I am looking for a decent lens on a budget, in a few months time I will be traveling through Asia for a month or so (from Singapore to Japan). I want to take 2 lenses with me. The first I've decided on is a Canon EF 40mm f/2.8 STM Pancake lens (mainly for video stuff), the second I am not sure of, I have looked at heaps of lenses in the past few weeks from Canon branded lenses (from the 24 - 105mm to 18 - 200mm) and even the Sigma 18 - 250mm lens.

My issue is and I could be completely wrong on this is, I am worried about the more the lens can zoom out the worse the quality of the photo is (sure with some post production work I could fix the photo) but I've only ever seen people say this on the Sigma 18 - 250mm and not the Canon. Do all lenses that have large zoom have this issue? Should I be looking at the 24 - 105mm lens as a travel lens? Or should I go the Canon 18 - 200mm?

Also to take into consideration the fact the I might want use the lens in low light situations for example a live music concert (taking photos not video). What do you recommend?