Best lense for portraiture using Nikon D3000?

mc1979

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hi all, just wanted to ask a quick question, I am a newbie to all this as stated before in previous post. My passion for photography lies mainly in portraits using natural light and I'm really just getting started. I have a Nikon D3000 that I just recently got used, it has the kit lense, and I do know that it's gotten reviewed as Nikon's worst DSLR ever, however, I think I've taken some pretty good shots with it and plus with me just starting out I'm learning in all this. I do know that only AF-S lenses can be used with this, and my question is what's the best one for portraits?
Thanks for any advice!

First of all, you're not quite correct; any Nikon lens built in the last forty years can be used with your camera. Not all will provide auto-focus or metering, but they will allow you to take a photograph. As with any gear question, the most important thing is budget. For crop sensor cameras I like the 50-60mm focal lengths, and you have a choice of several including Nikon and third-party. If you can afford it, go for Nikon's 50mm 1.4 AF-S G.

Thanks, and my bad about the lense, I misunderstood.

First of all, you're not quite correct; any Nikon lens built in the last forty years can be used with your camera. Not all will provide auto-focus or metering, but they will allow you to take a photograph. As with any gear question, the most important thing is budget. For crop sensor cameras I like the 50-60mm focal lengths, and you have a choice of several including Nikon and third-party. If you can afford it, go for Nikon's 50mm 1.4 AF-S G.