Blurriness... Help!

guest24

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have a Canon T3, and I would like to think I'm okay at using it... I just got it within this past year and I'm still learning.

The problem is, when I want to take quick snapsots of my child, I put it to Auto or another preset mode with auto focus, but they ALWAYS, without fail, turn out blurry!! His face is blurry or his arms are blurry or half of him is blurry. The thing is, on the camera screen they look GREAT, but then when I get them uploaded onto my computer, they are ALL blurry and I get so upset.

I don't risk taking pictures on Manual when I'm not practicing (I'll get there eventually), or when we are somewhere for a short period because I don't want to risk ruining a good picture, but the Auto isn't working either.

Can anyone help me? I can send a pic if needed.

Last edited:
Try using shutter priority and setting your shutter to about 1/250 and see if that fixes your problem. I am guessing that your camera isn't able to get enough light and is compensating by dropping the shutter too slow. It's an educated guess, but also a blind one not being able to see one of the images to truly diagnose.
If your settings are blinking at you it means that the camera is not getting exposure and you will need to raise your ISO in order for it to get enough light.

Thanks for the feed back... I went into the settings of one of the pictures I took, and I think it explains it all. It was set to Auto but it was giving me terrible "Auto" settings... I kind of figured that on Auto it would act like a point and shoot..

Here's the settings of one of the pictures that was set on Auto:

f-stop f/4.5
shutter 1/25
ISO-3200
No flash

I still don't understand why the pictures looked fantastic on the screen - maybe because the screen is way smaller than the computer screen?

I'm going to try the shutter priority next time and see what happens!