Bokeh Issues :(

mikedadude

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Right.. I'm still really new to all of this. I managed to do a Bokeh'esque shot the other day but that was when the focal point was about 0.5m away and the background of trees were around 15m away.

I'm using a canon 450d with the 18-55m kit lense.

First, I know that to get bokeh I need to use a wide aperture.

Few questions though:

1. Can I only shoot bokeh in auto-focus and not manual-focus?
2. I have set manual AF points but everything is still in focus.. what am I doing wrong?
3. I know there's a depth of field calculator but this means little to me, and I have skimmed over the mathematical side to it all but this still doesn't compel me to calculate depths of fields everytime I want to take a picture. Is there an easier way?
4. Is it possible to shoot macro bokeh shots with a kit lense?

Thanks in advance.

1. Can I only shoot bokeh in auto-focus and not manual-focus?
Doesn't matter.
2. I have set manual AF points but everything is still in focus.. what am I doing wrong?
If everything is in focus, it means that your DOF (Depth of Field) is deep enough cover the scene. In order to have some things show up OOF (out of focus), you need to use a DOF that is shallower than your scene.
The actual AF point you use, doesn't matter...as long as you know where the lens is focusing.
3. I know there's a depth of field calculator but this means little to me, and I have skimmed over the mathematical side to it all but this still doesn't compel me to calculate depths of fields every time I want to take a picture. Is there an easier way?
With a little practice, it gets to be like 2nd nature.
4. Is it possible to shoot macro bokeh shots with a kit lense?