Bought a P&S - Am I Just Spoiled? (Lots of photos)

AdamBomb

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey All,
I've been shooting with a DSLR for quite a few years now, and I feel that I've gotten quite good at it. Well I decided that I wanted a new Point-and-Shoot for when I didn't feel like toting my gripped D90 around.

After days of research, I decided to pick up the Canon SX210is. I read many reviews saying, "This is the best point-and-shoot on the planet!"

Unfortunately I am very disappointed with the performance of this camera. I shot some stuff around the house where I expected the camera would perform quite well. Lots of blur and noise. I also shot outside and I feel the shots were mediocre.

Now I understand that this is a $240 camera, but I thought I would get a little better performance out of it. I thought about picking up the S95, but it's about $130 more... which is more than I wanted to spend on a P&S. I may consider taking it back and waiting for the Nikon P300 (F1.8 lens!)

Here's some examples straight from the camera... Make em bigger.

5495590600_c4218e17c3_b.jpg

5494998021_2cc1042f6e_b.jpg

Look at the bushes on the left:

5495589878_4c1bb20065_b.jpg

Here's a good one:

5495589480_49a2930081_b.jpg

5495589118_d36433892f_b.jpg

Noise on the hood of my truck:

5495588696_14403f844c_b.jpg

PLENTY of very bright light... dog was pretty still as well. AF was centered on her.

5495588300_40fb8a8d17_b.jpg

5494995611_1c6858c2e8_b.jpg

I have been playing with this thing all afternoon (today is my day off) and cannot produce satisfactory images. What gives? Maybe I have a lemon?

turn it to manual, adjust the ISO shutter aperture.

With a pixel pitch in the less than 2 µm range its no surprise the camera doesn't do any better.

Would you guys happen to have a better "sidekick" camera that you would recommend?