Brand new, question on settings

InkedMarie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all,
I'm not a photographer by any means, I just take alot of pictures. I have a Sony DSC-HX1. Generally, I love the camera, easy for people like me who want simple. My only issue is when I attend concerts. Last night, we went to a concert and the lighting was anywhere from blue to red. I seem to get the best pictures if I choose the sport mode but they still aren't as nice & clear as I'd like. My son can get the pictures I want but he does stuff to my camera that I am clueless about, with changing settings. Does anyone have any advice for me? I try the easy setting and auto but they end up grainy and blurry. I'm a novice, I just want clearer pictures, especially during a concert. Thanks in advance!

Marie

I guess I'll be the first to jump in.

That seems to be a very nice bridge camera you have.

There are things in life that confuse the camera computers...A concert is probably one of them. A WHOLE lot of dark area, with some brightly lit subjects.
It's in cases like this that you, the photogrpaher, have to take over control from the computer. Shooting in the MANUAL mode here could most likely help you get a little better
picture.

Learn how to control the three functions of the camera in manual mode, the Shutter speed, the Aperture, and the ISO speed. (it is a learning curve...sorry)
Also remember, the more you zoom in, the less light the lens will let in, so you have to compensate.

Using a high ISO (your camera goes up to 3200) is the first step. Making the sensor as "sensitive" as you can. Controlling the exposure by manually setting the Aperture and shutter let you decide what amount of light to let in.

YOu will get lots of recommendations, like Peterson's Book "Understanding Exposure" if you want to go that far in learning.

Good Luck