Buying a camera for the Amazon Rainforest and the Galapagos Islands

Smilemon

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi everybody,
I’m taking the trip of a lifetime this January to Ecuador and the Galapagos Islands. I will be studying comparative ecology in the highland Andes, the rain forests in the Amazon Basin, and the islands of the Galapagos. I'm looking for a DSLR that will perform well in a variety of conditions. I'm a fairly competent photographer, but I'm going to say a little bit about my background just to give everyone an idea of where I'm at in my search.

I've shot a lot of film in the past and I'm an able darkroom worker. I have an Olympus OM-1 film camera with a decent number of lenses, and I feel pretty good about the mechanics of a SLR camera and how everything works in terms of shutter speed, aperture, ISO, ect. I also worked as the editor for my high school yearbook and shot sporting events with an array of Canon cameras, ranging from the 30D, Rebel, and 50D, but that was two years ago and I’m not very up to date on how the technology has changed.

I'm a sophomore in college, I have a decent job (I'm an RA), but my budget is tight. I'm willing to skip a few meals and lattes to purchase a good camera, but lets just say at this point I could only spend a little more than two months paychecks, so about 800 dollars, give or take a bit. I know this puts me back a bit, and I might have to skimp on some features and probably not even buy an additional lens, so please take my list of requirements with a grain of salt, and refer to it as more of a wishlist. If anyone has taken rainforest pictures, and has good tips, please let me know.

Wishlist:
1. Really good lowlight autofocus. The rainforest is a dark place. The Rebel xsi I used in the past was terrible at autofocusing in the dark, the 50D was really good at it, but who knows, tech might have changed.