buying a used DSLR...what should i be aware of?

Raven

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
i'll be getting a pentax k-x, my first dslr from craigslist.
since i'm a noob, i'm wondering what do i have to be aware of to make sure everything is functioning properly?

yes, take a picture, take a video would help, but are there any other things that i should be aware of?

i've heard that if you point a dslr camera at the sun, it can burn the filter...is that true? and how would i know if the filter is burnt?

according the to guy, the camera has barley been used with about 2000 pictures. the kit lens hasn't been used as the owner had a few other lenses that were being used with the camera.

the camera comes with all the case candies like cd program, manuals, strap, memory card and bunch of other stuff....

Last edited:
Who's guy and what's a barley been?

As a noob, you have no hope of knowing whether everything is functioning properly. Take a chance. Hopefully you'll get lucky.

the body has barley been used with only 2000 clicks.
and the guy as in the person i'm buying the camera from....

Seriously unless you can handle the goods before buying, just get a plausible assurance it all works. It's true that a sensor exposed to concentrated solar energy could be damaged. I've never burnt a sensor by taking shots into the sun nor known anyone who has.

Confirm that:

The battery holds a full charge. The charger works.
The body is undamaged.
The lens is undamaged (functional AF, free from scratches or dents).

What else (?) Can you pay via a secure method?

well i'll be seeing the camera in person, so i will go over all that
and payment in cash.