C&C on my lighting with flash

Rgollar

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
april by rgollar, on Flickr

This is my first attempt at lighting with 2 speedlights. Could I please get some critique on how I can improve this picture for lighting. And does the editing look bad? I am just playing with my daughters graduating pictures for fun. So any suggestion would be much appreciated.

april by rgollar, on Flickr

This is my first attempt at lighting with 2 speedlights. Could I please get some critique on how I can improve this picture for lighting. And does the editing look bad? I am just playing with my daughters graduating pictures for fun. So any suggestion would be much appreciated.

Looks pretty good! You can try to make one side a little bit darker (by lowering the power of the speed light on that side).

This could make the photo a bit more interesting.

Generally I would suggest to just try different things... find out what you like!

Cheers,
Andreas

Would makeing one side of the face have a little shadow help with the depth of face so it does not look to flat?

This is really pretty much "dual main lights"....or "dueling main lights" (A little photo humor there, with an emphasis on little I fear.) The left light and the right light are both creating shadows; the left light creates a very small shadow on her dimple; the right side light creates a shadow of her hair that falls on her neck. In effect, the two lights are cross-lighting her, which is a good way to light flat artwork or documents, for a relatively shadowless type of lighting that minimizes texture or shape. Her face lacks a feeling of dimension, of roundness, because the two light sources are basically each aimed in toward the center of her face, from opposite sides.