C&C please on my mountain pivture

john sherratt

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi so i thought i would post a picture i took today i'm still very new to this and have a lot to learn but i think it looks ok is it a keeper or delete it lol thanks john.

DSC_0201.jpg

It's a keeper with a few simple edits. Adjust the black & white points, put a slight S in the curve, and bump the saturation up a tad.

DSC_0201Edit.jpg

With the original full-size image (preferably a raw file) it could be improved even more.

Awsome thank you here is the orignal sorry it is not in raw i do not own any photo editing software apart from what i got with my D7000 veiw NX2 i cropped out the town for the moutain veiw was that a good idea? Also i had the cloud shaddow on the bottom right i tryed to crop out as much as i could thank you john.

DSC_0201-1.jpg

View NX can display and edit Nikons NEF files.

Looks like you were up on Sulphur Mountain.

The main issue is a lack of contrast. This can often be helped, as Sparky did, by using a 'levels' adjustment and moving the black point & the white point. A curves adjustment helps the mid-tones. The boost to saturation was needed as well. Some software (Lightroom for example) has a clarity adjustment, which would help as well.

If you were shooting this again, I'd suggest lowering your exposure a little bit. The shadows would probably turn black, but that's not a big deal if the rest of the shot turns out better.
Also, a polarizing filter would have been great in this situation. It can darken blue skies, making the clouds pop out more...and probably a few other enhancements as well.