Camera Settings

Matt Tullos

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I teach Yearbook in Junior High and green when it comes to photography. I have been a graphics designer for 20 years so I familiar with the industry. Here goes my question:

I am looking for a good resource for camera settings. For instance, what are the best general settings for an outdoor football game on a bright day (e.g. iso, shutter, aperture, etc...) I know I am opening up a can of worms here because everyone has their super intelligent opinions and long winded answers. I am not looking for liturgy on the art of photography, just a resource for some starting points for camera settings for different environments with different variable. A spreadsheet would be amazing.

hmm .. (I know, maybe long winded) but you need to increase you understanding of the Exposure Triangle.

Let me give you a specific example.
If I want to isolate ONE subject on a soccer field I'm going to shoot at f/2.8
- and I want a shutter speed that will stop the action and not allow hot spots from too much light on a sunny day
- this I want an ISO value that is supportive of the 2 above items.
- add to that I may add a ND filter or Circular Polarizer to help the camera or minimize reflections.

This past weekend I was shooting at f/2.8, 1/1250 shutter and ISO 100 to do that.
ONE Cloud though and either shutter is slowed or ISO increased for that time the cloud covers the direct sun.

WHEREAS
If I'm shooting soccer where I want to get more than one person in focus I may be at f/5.6
- which will slow the shutter or increase ISO to compensate for less light coming in due to the more closed aperture.

someone in another thread just posted this which has some "spreadsheet" values
http://digital-photography-school.com/6-phrases-to-help-you-learn-photography-faster/

Thanks..... astroNikon