Camera upgrade from Canon T2i / 550D

t.e.t.r.a

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've been using that body for almost 4 years. I've been quite happy with it as a step up from compacts, but as I moved from mainly static subjects (landscapes, night) to more dynamic ones (lifestyle portraits, events) I've hit its limits in regard to focusing speed and handling: hardly customizable, too much menu diving, and changing manual mode settings too cumbersome.

My current lens lineup is: Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 (somehow I find this range very versatile on APS-C), Canon EF-S 10-18mm IS, 50mm f/1.8 and the kit lenses EF-S 18-55 IS, EF-S 55-250mm IS. All relatively cheap lenses, but I still wouldn't want to switch to another dSLR brand completely without very compelling reasons.

I was considering upgrading to a 7D Mark II for about $1450, taking advantage of a cashback offer that expires in a few weeks. Apparently this has the best autofocus in the APS-C lineup. The weather sealing would also be handy for the eventual once-in-a-lifetime safari ;p

I'm aware of the relatively low image quality of the 7DII, but it's still an improvement over my current camera. Nowadays I get usable shots up to ISO 3200, if focus is on my side. Also, I haven't been spoiled by a touch-tilt-LCD. I'm not interested in video, either.

Clearly, a 5D Mark III would be more versatile especially for indoor events and a nice camera to grow into. But then I would need to budget for at least a full-frame tele zoom (and probably many more EF lenses in the future). Another downside is the reduced range. For that money I'd rather get the low-light king Sony A7s plus a lens or two. The cheaper 6D wouldn't solve my focus speed issues. I don't know if it's the right point for me to invest into the full-frame experience.