Cannon Rebel XT vs. Rebel XTI

phoenix83

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi I am new to photography and have saved up some cash to spend on a Dslr I am confused to which one I should get I narrowed my choice down to the XT and the XTI. I know the XT has only 6 mp and the XTI has 10 but are these the only differences in the two or are the others. I am hoping to shoot some fashion , portrait , and nature photography but not sure should I spend the extra for the XTI or just go with the XT:afro:

Hi I am new to photography and have saved up some cash to spend on a Dslr I am confused to which one I should get I narrowed my choice down to the XT and the XTI. I know the XT has only 6 mp and the XTI has 10 but are these the only differences in the two or are the others. I am hoping to shoot some fashion , portrait , and nature photography but not sure should I spend the extra for the XTI or just go with the XT:afro:

XT is 8mp. i own it and it works well. of course i live by the ol photog saying "buy a cheap body and put your money in the glass".

Sorry about the mistake in mp. but are the features the same on both ?

I'd say you should go with the XT and save your money. Pretty much the same camera but the XTi has 2 more megapixels and a higher price.

I have about 5 friends all with Canons, some with the XT and some with the XTI. I myself have an XT. Unless you are making huge prints i don't think the extra 2 mp will make a difference especially since they use the same sensor (digic II). the biggest notable difference i see is the screen on the back. the xt has a much smaller preview screen and has a seperate little screen right above it for quick reference to settings including shutter speed and fstop that is always on. with the xti you can set the one large screen to have the settings shown, but then the large screen is always lit.