Canon 50mm 1.8 Question

EngageTutorials

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi, i am very new to photography/film about 2 days ago i bought the Canon T2i which came with the kit lense. I want to buy the Canon 50MM 1.8 II but it has no image stabilization. Will this be a problem? Or is it ok? Once i again sorry if its a stupid question.

The lack of IS means the lens will be cheaper. The rule of thumb is 1/focal length for appropriate shutter speed for hand held without IS. So with the 50mm prime, try to stay at 1/50 or shorter for the shutter speed. Now, if you're really stable hand held or using a tripod, you can go with longer shutter speeds. I'm pretty good hand held, so I can get away with 1/30 or even 1/20, but that's pushing it.

non-IS lenses are fine, until you get into telephotos, like 100+, then you want to get a lens that has IS.

non-IS lenses are fine, until you get into telephotos, like 100+, then you want to get a lens that has IS.

Nooo, then you use a monopod, tripod, or most importantly, follow the rule of thumb. Pros shot, and still shoot, with non IS tele's. IS is a tool you can choose to have, or not have, in your tool box. It is by no means necessary.

Thank you guys for the reply. I am definitely going to buy =]

It's a nice piece of glass. IS isn't that important with a fast shutter speed at 50mm.

ok, thanks ! I can tell this forum is gonna help a lot!

The nifty fifty was one of the first lenses I bought. The large aperture is amazing, and the glass quality is sufficient to get some nice shots. It'll serve you well. Mine's been collecting dust lately since I bought my Sigma 17-70 and dumped the 18-55 kit lens. But the 50 will always have it's uses and is almost a necessity in everyone's camera bag.