Canon 60D or 650D?

BradG93

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi, I am new to the site and quite new to photography. I have been using my dads old Canon EOS 350D but would like to get my own camera which is slightly more up to date. I was looking at Canon because I can still use the same lenses for a while until I get some of my own?

As I live relatively near a race track, I have started taking a few photos of various different motor sports, but I would also like to get into landscape photography and a little bit of macro for things like flowers and insects (when we actually have some decent weather in the UK!)

I have had a look at both cameras in the shop but I'm just unsure as to what one would be better for me as I am only a beginner and wouldn't want to buy something which I find hard to understand.

I have also read that there is a 700D and a 70D coming out? Would it be a good shout to wait until these come out before I purchase my own camera? As the prices of the 650D and 60D would be cheaper?

Any help is much appreciated :)

Thanks
Brad

Have you thought about possible an older, used body such as the 50D? The 50D has the ever-important micro-adjust that the 60D lacks. But if I had to choose between the 60D and 650D I would have to go with the 60D as I need the quick control dial.

Last edited:
Hi, I am new to the site and quite new to photography. I have been using my dads old Canon EOS 350D but would like to get my own camera which is slightly more up to date. I was looking at Canon because I can still use the same lenses for a while until I get some of my own?

As I live relatively near a race track, I have started taking a few photos of various different motor sports, but I would also like to get into landscape photography and a little bit of macro for things like flowers and insects (when we actually have some decent weather in the UK!)