Canon 6D Mark II? Or... nah...?

shubhammandhre

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am currently a student, and have recently decided to start taking photography/videography more seriously (to make it my side gig, and hopefully full time). I have been looking to buy the 6D Mark II, but most reviews seem to always downplay the camera, so I've had my doubts. I am looking for a full frame that does video well enough. I currently have a t3i (and a nifty fifty) and have been using that to get by. I will be using the next camera I buy for photo and video, equally. I don't have experience, or too much knowledge, about any other camera/brand.

Being a student, I don't have a huge price range, but am willing to invest in myself (AKA $1500~). That being said, I was wondering if yall could give me advice about the 6D Mark II, or can recommend another camera (Sony, Panasonic, Nikon). Should I buy the 6D Mark II (heard it was a good entry level full frame), another camera (Sony a7iii or Panasonic GH5s), or wait and get the 6D Mark III?

I have the 6D Mark Ii and it was a very good decision at the time and I am glad I got it.

Before we talk about bodies, what lenses do you have or will you get?

For a crop sensor consider the 70D or the 7d

I have a little more time now. I have thoroughly enjoyed the 6D Mark II. There have been a couple of little nitpicks that reviewers have pointed out but I knew that going in and they have been inconsequential for what I need. I almost purchased the 5D Mark IV but could not justify the added cost and honestly, there were features in the 6D Mark II it did not have that I used every outing.

So I decided to save $1000 and use it towards glass. I got the 70-200 f 2.8 L. That experience highlighted how important glass is.

I have the body you have, T3i, and a T7i. When I put good glass on either the results are excellent.