Canon 7D MKII exposure problems

davholla

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
My Canon 7D MKII is 4 years old - last year due to a firmware update it needed servicing. I have found that the exposure has been going wrong. This could be user error - but I have never had this before - any ideas.

It could be user error of course - but I have been using it without any problems for 4 years.

The problem seems to be lines coming under flash or strong light see below

LightproblemEF7A0897 by davholla2002, on Flickr

LightproblemEF7A0757v3 by davholla2002, on Flickr

looks like your sensor is trashed.

Try resetting the camera to factory default. I have had to do that before.

Thank you both

It was with two separate lens, most photos are fine (see below) and if I use an external flash it is fine.

GullEF7A0813 by davholla2002, on Flickr

GooseEF7A0870 by davholla2002, on Flickr

Some are less affected
SnowdropsEF7A0862 by davholla2002, on Flickr

Factory reset did not solve the problem.
I think the problem is white things and using the pop up flash - hopefully that will help someone provide a solution

Are you sure an external flash was used on the gull/goose images? They don't seem like it.
I would agree that looks like a sensor issue. However the overexposed flower and bird make me believe it could also be a processor issue as it is showing an extreme ISO for the image. In both of those images I would expect an ISO under 1000.

What settings were you in? Manual with auto ISO, TV, AV, etc.?
If you go full manual and shoot a similar situation does it still have the same issue?

As for fixable or not, I wouldn't know.

Are you sure an external flash was used on the gull/goose images? They don't seem like it.