Canon A-1

david_77

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm an uber beginner at this. I've bought a Canon A-1 and lots of B&W film and have several questions concerning the device and terminology (please be patient with me, I have NO idea what I'm doing at the moment...)

1. What are f/stops?
2. What is aperture?
3. How does the amount of exposure affect a picture?
4. How does shutter speed affect a photo?
And also, everytime I twist my lense to the green "a" for ae priority, the viewfinder blinks the error display...

Welcome to the forum! First, go over here and download a free .pdf file of your camera's manual. It will answer most of your questions.

Briefly, "f stops" are the units that describe how large the aperture is for any given exposure. It's a fractional measurement, so the numbers may not make sense, just remember the large the number (f16, f22) the smaller the aperture and the less light the lens will admit to your film. This also affects depth of field and other factors as well. The aperture is a physical device inside the lens exactly like the iris of your eye which is adjustable via the aperture ring, or f-stop ring on the lens.

For exposure, too much light will produce a dark to opaque negative which will render as a white, detailless print. Too little will be the opposite.

Shutter speed affects the photo in many ways, by controlling the amount of light that can reach the film, and short shutter speeds will allow you to stop movement, longer ones to enhance it (think of the soft, feathery water you see in some pictures of streams and waterfalls).

Not sure on the error, refer to the manual.

The lens aperture numbers (f-stops) make a lot of sense if you have an understanding of the math involved.

The little f, in f/8, f/16, or f/11, represents the lens focal length, or the focal length a zoom lens is adjusted to, so that little f is a number that changes depending on the focal length of the lens.