Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Lens

JozStalin

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
"Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Lens" This was the title read on an online shopping website in regards to a canon lens. Being a beginner I want to know what exactly these specification,- "EF 50mm f/1.8 II Lens" refers to....
What does 50 mm refer and what does f/1.8 refer.. please sort me out...:confused::confused:

With Regards,
Joseph Stalin

hey,
the 50mm refers to focal length (like any other lens, 55-200mm or 18-55mm), on Canon it should equal to 80mm because of the 1.6x crop factor. The f1.8 refers to aparture size, smaller number equals bigger aparture size and better performance in low-light situations. This lens is a good prime lens. If you want to read more about it, then you can do it here: Focal Length and F-Stop Explanation

Hope i was helpful :)

50mm (millimeters) is the focal length. A shorter focal length will give you a wider field of view and a longer focal length will give you a narrower field of view. 50mm is usually considered 'normal' because the magnification is similar to the human eye.

F/1.8 (or just F1.8) is the maximum aperture. The aperture is the adjustable pupil (hole) in the lens. By adjusting the aperture, you can control the exposure as well as the Depth of Field (DOF). The F number is a ratio between the focal length and the size of the opening...so the lower the F number, the larger the opening. F1.8 is considered to be a very large aperture.

II denotes that this is the second version of the EF 50mm F1.8.

EF is Canon's designation for it's auto focus lenses, made for Canon EOS cameras.

Maybe it's just me and I don't mean to discourage you, but why are you shopping for lenses if you don't know anything about them? Learn first and shop second.

hey,