Canon EF 70-300 IS USM lens maintenance

Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Greetings,

I'm a very uninitiated hobbyist and got this lens used to try to photograph birds. I know, a long lens would probably work better, but I currently get by on limited funds, so this was the best I could do.

The reason for the post is that the lens works fine overall, but there are times I shoot a picture and the result seems blurred. I know my lack of experience and technique is primarily to blame, but when I depress the shutter button, the red target thing in the viewfinder usually indicates a focused frame.

I've started to wonder if the lens maybe needs some kind of work? It's seems in pretty good shape, the motor for the auto focus works from what I can tell. However, the business end, where the fine focus is, seems be sort of loose, for lack of a better term, if I hold it and try to shift it a little bit. I'm not trying to pry it apart, applying a lot of force, as if trying to pull it loose or anything, I know I should try to leave the lens in one piece as much as possible. ;) Having noticed this though, and not having experience with zooms lenses beyond my own, I don't know how much play is normal between the end with the glass and the housing. Do lenses such as this one need occasional maintenance? I keep the lens on the camera, in the bag, it's a snug fit, but they work together. If more information is needed, please let me know.

If you are in lower light conditions and you are using 300mm it may be hard to get good focus. Also, if your shutter speed is slower (<200) any camera movement is magnified when you are at full zoom.