Canon EOS 60D Filters

johnformby

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

I am quite new to DSLR photography and have just got the point where I can get some reasonable images with my Canon EOS 60D. The problem is that they look a little flat and drained of colour. I live in Seychelles so really want to take some beautiful images of my home Country. A friend of mine has suggested is use filters, but I have no idea what I should look for? My photography is mainly landscape like beaches and the lush green mountains as well as some nature shots of birds and lizards. Please can someone make a suggestion for what I need to buy to get nice vivid shots.

Thanks,

John

A circular polarizer will help with some color and with the water that will probably be in a lot of your shots. Also, a graduated neutral density that can help even out the brightness of a scene that includes sky and darker mountains/forests. This will keep one from washing out the other as the camera tries to set the correct exposure.

Just a note on the circular polarizer (CPOL). It can indeed do all of the things mentioned above, BUT... like many things, it's effect is condition dependant. The effects of a CPOL are strongest when the sun is low in the sky and at 90 degrees to the lens axis (on one of your shoulders). When you're shooting toward the sun, and/or when it's high in the sky (mid-day) the effects can be pretty close to zero. That said, at maximum, it can do some amazing things to your shots, BUT don't run out and buy a cheap piece of junk from eBay or somewhere like that. A good polarizer in 77mm should run well north of USD 100. Tiffen and Hoya (in their multi-coated lines) are decent; Heliopan and B+W are very good, and Singh-Ray and Lee are the best; prices go up accordingly.