Canon or Nikon

Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am about to make my first purchase of a high quality camera. I want this decision to be a good one, but I keep hearing different opinions claiming one brand is better than the other. Any advice on what to keep in mind when purchasing my new camera? I am a photo student, and work a lot of wedding gigs and senior portrait shoots. Art photo also has high impact on my works.

Any and all info will be greatly appreciated!
Thanks so much! :thumbup:

This is a hairy topic. They both make great cameras as far as I can tell. You will find most people say what they own, is best lol.

EXCEPT on here. A lot of people on here use both, which surprised me.

I bought a Nikon D40 to get started.

Nikon is by far the superior camera, anything Canon is pure crap.

That was a joke

They are both equals and you should pick the one you think will work best for you.

Please lock it lock it while there's still time.......

I chose Canon because of their high ISO performance since I shoot weddings. However, the new Nikon's have great high ISO performance as well.

Coke or Pepsi? Nike or Reebok? Ford, Chevy or Dodge? Red or Blue?

People will argue both sides until they are blue in the face (or in this case, fingers).

The reality is that they are both very good brands and they each offer a great range of products to suit a beginner, an amateur or a professional.

We won't tolerate a pissing match between Canon & Nikon users (or any other brand)...so let's not go there please.

Grab one and see what you prefer. Go into your local camera shot try it out. I got a great deal on my first canon 5 years ago and am still using canon. The lenses available suit me. As long as you don't end up living in the fantasy world that one or the other brand makes a camera that is 10000 times better. If I had to start from scratch now I would find it a hard choice and would choose camera best suited to circumstances.