Canon Sports Lens Suggestions for Beginner Please

boucher28

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello. Well I have decided on my camera, a used Canon EOS Xti in excellent condition I'm getting tomorrow for $300. I'm also getting a used Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM lens that is also used/excellent condition for $100.

I'm now looking for an economical fast/low light lens. I am a beginner, looking to shoot youth sports. I have 6 children ages, 4-14, so I am not looking to shoot extremely fast paced college/pro action. Can anyone with Canon lens experience, lead me in the right direction of a fast/low light lens that is economical? Just a decent lens that can capture some action that is fair priced and would allow me to take decent photos, that I would not be embarrassed to give to other parents or possibly sell.

I thank you ahead of time for your help!

Any 2.8 zoom will be better. If cost is a factor look at the Sigma line. Even though Sigma is not a "brand" name lens, you can get good quality shots for the price. I would recomend the 70-200 2.8

85mm f/1.8

Faster than the f/2.8 zooms, generally sharper, and a hell of alot less expensive.

^^^^^^ +1

If you don't mind it being a prime lens you are using, the 85 is a great lens.

The 70-200 suggested is much out of my price range at this time, as well as the 85mm 2.8. I do appreciate the suggestions. I know it was a hard question for me to ask, and hearing "cheap but good" probably makes most cringe here.

i have been looking at this lens. Might this get a beginner by for shooting some action on the youth level for starters?

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

[ame=http://www.amazon.com/Canon-50mm-1-8-Camera-Lens/dp/B00007E7JU/]Amazon.com: Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens: Camera & Photo[/ame]