Canon SX50/SX520 manual focus

soufiej

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
While not exactly a "beginner" in photography, I am new to the current generation of compact cameras. (What an interesting marketing scheme of three dozen models from one manufacturer! Not "point and shoot" and not DSLR but rather a "compact" since the camera has the features and size of neither a PS nor a DSLR though much more like a PS than a real DSLR.)

I've recently acquired a SX50 after deciding the SX520 was probably not going to get me where I wanted to be with a "day to day, put it in the Fiat everyday, shoot when I see something interesting" camera. The 520 was, IMO, the least expensive camera which gave me some degree of "creative control" by way of Av, Tv and Manual modes. Both cameras also advertise they have manual focus capabilities. I know not to trust specs alone but to say either of these cameras have a useful manual focus would seem to be a stretch too far. This very basic, IMO, level of creativity simply does not seem to exist in the true PS category, even in P mode. After about a week with the 520, however, I was thinking I was far more likely to be breaking out the DSLR than I would be using the 520 if I really wanted some slightly better than average results on even a day to day basis. (I'm fine with the small sensor in these cameras and understand the improvements which could be had with the DSLR. I just don't want to carry the larger and more expensive package of body and lenses and filters, etc, etc with me all the time. I live in a fairly big city and I'm not keen on constantly advertising I have a lot of camera gear which could belong to someone else with a few unkind words or deeds. The cost of the SX50 is, IMO, the limit for what might publicly be lifted from my possession at any time. Add in the single lens of decent quality and the compact camera(s) appeared to be the best solution.)