Canon vs Nikon vs Hasselblad... Is there really a difference?

julesoille

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi there everyone. I am a Toronto Product Photographer. I am always working to enhance the quality of my product shots.
I currently like to use a D800, 105mm macro, I grey card, light meter, adjust levels, etc

Can we honestly say that one camera manufacturer is decisively better than another these days?

Love to hear your thought

$Purse w Brick Wall.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
The difference between Canon and Nikon would be negligible and likely only a case of either nit-picking at minor differences or interface wise with the camera operation.

Hasselblad is a different ballgame because those cameras are recording to a much larger sensor/film size. They'd be overkill for most web-displays but you might find them superior for large scale print displays - however at the cost for such a system you really need to have a good reason to get one, as Canon and Nikon high end fullframe bodies can still reproduce large scale prints.

In this field of photography the biggest element is the lighting; the control, angle, modification etc.. of the light is critical and will have the greatest effect on the quality you get. That is the same no matter what camera setup you use to photograph.

The difference between Canon and Nikon would be negligible and likely only a case of either nit-picking at minor differences or interface wise with the camera operation.

Hasselblad is a different ballgame because those cameras are recording to a much larger sensor/film size. They'd be overkill for most web-displays but you might find them superior for large scale print displays - however at the cost for such a system you really need to have a good reason to get one, as Canon and Nikon high end fullframe bodies can still reproduce large scale prints.