Carnegie Hall

Photo Mech

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all. This is my first post here, and I have a specific question. I am going on a trip to NYC with a University Symphonic band, and I am now the official photographer. The guy who does this for a living, is no longer coming. Now, I consider myself a pretty good photographer. I do graphic design for a living, and took a couple photography classes in college. I mostly do outdoor shots, football games, etc. However, I am a bit nervous about being the photographer for their Carnegie Hall performance. Mostly because I do not like doing indoor photos. They do not allow flashes, and they said I will be about 80-100 ft back from the stage, and I am also only allowed to take pictures between songs (I have a Nikon D50, and don't think there is any way to make it completely silent, and thats the only way I'd be able to take pictures during a performance.)

Has anyone ever been inside Carnegie Hall? Even better, has anyone ever had a chance to shoot inside it?

Any help or advice would be great.

I second mikes question and say that if you dont have a good long fast telephoto, think about renting one! You can rent the 70-200 vr for not too much, and it will help you a ton. With that 2.8 a flash might not be required (ive seen performances in Carnegie Hall but have never actually been there).

How about taking your photos during the dress rehearsal and leave them to play without any interruptions in the performance? You might have a lot more freedom to wander around and find yourself nice angles, and your presence (and the noise of the shutter) won't be as disrupting as they would be during the actual performance.

That said, I don't know the inside of Carnegie Hall at all... but I would always discount the use of flash for any kind of stage photography. High ISO and maybe a noise reduction programme later, plus a fast lens, should do "the trick".