Cataloging photos

Baldieheidit

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm looking for suggestions on how to save and catalogue my photo's as my housekeeping is dreadful.

At present, my photo's seem to save in Elements 6, Picture Portrait and also on the My Documents file in my hard drive. Obviously, the more pictures I take, the worse it's going to get.

My photo's all get saved into a date ordered file, regardless of subject, but I'm looking for suggestions on how to make this more streamlined to make backing up easier.

cheers

Nick

I'm new to all this (well, been taking snapshots for several years, new to "thinking" about photography). I've had several ways I've organized my files. I've done it with folders by years and subfolders by months in the past, but then had quite a few photos some months to look through finding something and very few photos in other months.

I think I've finalized my organization now that I've purchased more than a full auto digital camera and I've taken more photos since Christmas than I have between buying my first digicam in 2002 to this past Christmas. I have a separate hard drive in the computer that I put all my photos. On that drive I have a folder for Photography. Within Photography, I have seperate folders for "Documents", which is various literature I'm collecting on the web and such, "New to Sort" which is where I put all my photos straight from the camera to give the initial look through. Then there is "Photos", which obviously are all the photos, and "Videos", which is also obvious and I refuse to explain :D.