Caught Between a Rock and a Hard Place...

Quentin_Moyer

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
My father asked me to take pictures for his business this weekend.
Simply put, I told him I am a 15 year old photography enthusiast, not a professional commercial photographer.
I'm in no position to take professional grade images to help a business build its reputation.
My father and I are now not on speaking terms because "I can't be bothered to do anything."
What am I supposed to do?! Should I just agree to take the pictures?
I'm tired of everyone thinking I'm a professional because I have a DSLR.

Sorry for the slight venting, I'm just astounded at the situation.

Remember this when you have your own teenager. Why didn't you at least have a go at it?

I was worried about the company's reputation, It's nothing against him at all, I just don't think I could've produced what he was actually hoping for.

If your 15, and your dad won't speak to you because you won't take professional photos for his company, I think he needs to re-think his reasoning. Most 15 year old are cutting the neighbors grass, or delivering news papers to make a few bucks.

What kind of shots is he needing? Product shots or something? What type of business is it?

...I think I would have at least tried. If they suck, just tell him they didn't turn out good and you need more practice first.
This might be a good opportunity for some new gear, lol. "Well, I would do it, Dad ... but, you see ... there's this flash I need to do it..." :lol:

As a father myself I ask, Who paid for most of your gear? Show him some respect and try to produce what he is looking for. All you can do is your best.

Your dad thinks highly of you and want you to do him proud. The point isn't about him getting the greatest photograph. The point is he can be proud of using them being from his son.