Cell Phone vs DSLR for Streaming/Video

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by Barrett Geyer, Dec 27, 2019.

1. Barrett Geyer

Barrett Geyer TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hi all -

Just found this forum and it's great. Wanted to throw my situation at you all for opinions.

I work for a small business and we are looking at producing more YT content and better images. Up to this point we have just used cell phones (Samaung S8/S9 and an iPhone X). Its worked ok for us.

I reached out to a friend who is heavy into streaming and he recommended the Panasonic G7 and a good entry-level DSLR - which I've borrowed from another person to play around with. I'm a total novice, but am learning and understand the concept . Behind ISO, apature priority and shutter priority. I understand the ck accepts, but am not yet able to control pics like I'd want to.

I also understand that no matter how good a cell phone is, it will not have the same sensor size as a DSLR.

So after all that spew, I guess my question to you all is which route would you go? Are the phones in 2019 adequate enough for web images and YouTube, or is there truly no comparison for someone who actually knows how to use a DSLR? Is there a better entry-level DSLR than the G7? I do like it so far - just really cant use it yet.

Thanks all!

2. azay

azay TPF Noob!

For practical purposes, DSLR is preferable, but for those looking for more, the classic system cannot replace SLR. If you're just starting out, it's better to start with the DSLR.
    refer to this site https://fas.st/oMyngi

3. Braineack

Braineack Been spending a lot of time on here!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    For vlogging, I'd be looking at a smaller 4k capable unit with an external mic port.

Something like the Sony g7x miii. It can record in vertical and even stream from the camera.