Choices

Nata

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Not too long ago I made a post introducing myself and I stated that I will be buying my first DSLR camera. I did a lot of comparisons in person and online as far as brands go and decided to go with Nikon. I like the feel in my hands and the photos that are generally produced with it.

At first I was torn between the D3300 or splurging over my budget for a D5500, but the more research I have done over the past week or so, the more I am beginning to wonder if I really NEED all the newest bells and whistles.

I am a college student studying graphic design so this will be my first photography class. Ideally I would love to produce some of my own stock photos, but as far as a hobby goes I am really interested in landscape, wildlife, and night photography of starscapes specifically. That's the dream at least, reality is, that I have a lot of learning to do and at my skill level I am not really sure what I NEED. Video is not a huge desire or need. Nice but not a need. My professor suggested that I buy something I can grow into... that was about it.

For my budget I am looking at around $400-$500 now. Preferably more towards the $400 end (college budget, you know.) Here is some of the ideas that I came up with.