Pictorially which would you prefer, if given only these choices:

• Total voters

xenskhe

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Please vote.

Could you perhaps expand on your poll a little? While I'm not an artistic scholar by any stretch, my understanding of the three terms leads me to believe that your poll is analogous to "Orange", "Apple", or "Walrus". What do you wish to achieve?

Mmmmm. Walrus.

Bacon. I vote for whichever one means "bacon."

The first two are essentially the same (contrast between light and dark) while Bokah is an out of focus melding of colors in shapes.
I vote for the beauty of Bokah.

I like bokeh, and spent a few years building up a collection of lenses that produced pleasing bokeh, including the older AF-D 85,105,and 135 lenses, and also the 45-P and 200/2 and 300/2.8 lenses. To me, a lens that has pleasing bokeh, and which transitions rom the focus zone and to the defocused zone makes the most pleasing photos over a wide range of subject matter. I enjoyed working with notan back in the 1980's while studying fine art photography, and printed a lot of images on Agfa TP-6, one of the highest-contrast photographic papers I could get (like, Grade 6! lol), but notan is difficult to apply to many,many types of shots, and the same with chiaroscuro. So this three-choice poll seems like an easy vote for bokeh to me.