Choosing lens and camera for jewelry photos

tanarele

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to photografy. I am looking for advise or ideas about what kind of lens and camera should i purchase. I need a camera and lens for taking a photos of jewelry which i make.

I know that there are many similar questions on the web, but all of them focus specifically on choosing macro lenses. My jewelry is quite big, like necklaces, bracelets and big brooches, so i will not need a very close up photos. Photo should fit a whole necklace with a little space around it. I guess i will not need macro for that. But i need a very sharp view of objects. I will take photos of objects, placed 20 - 70 cm from camera.

It is very important for me to have really wide depth of field in the photo, so that it would be possible to have whole object in focus. It will always be shiny metallic objects on black textile fabric. Could someone suggest what kind of lens could fit my needs? This should be a sharp lens, i guess. Also i will need a camera, too!
I add an example of what objects will appear in my photos. This is not a perfect photos, (especially the second one- i want it to be sharp :) ) it is only to show what i am talking about.
DSC07714m.JPG DSC04508 C.jpg

i really like my sigma 105 micro, but for you, i suggest a shorter focal length for more DOF. my old 60mm nikon micro is not as sharp when pixel peeping, but will work better for you unless you deploy a couple of flashes so you can shoot at f22.
have you considered a wide angle micro?

I think you should go for a little wider angle but really you still need macro because they will look a lot better you could even try a straight 50mm and go to f18 which should be still sharp. And definitely use flashes

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

So I am going to assume you want to buy the best camera and lens combination that will give you the best results for the lowest price.