Christmas tree & toddlers picture suggestion

gossamer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, I've taken a few nice pictures with our 3yo daughter around the Christmas tree, but I was looking for other suggestions on what might be appealing. Do you have any favorite Christmas tree pictures that you could suggest a nice composition?

Here's the one I took the other day. I'd be interested in your opinion. I have a D300 with a 35mm f1.8 lens. Part of the problem I was having with this picture is the lighting - This is f1.8, 800 ISO and 1/60th. The shutter speed is entirely too low - any motion here and it would have been (even more) out of focus. Yet the use of a flash here I think would take away from the low light effect this image has...

I'm relatively new to flash photography, but I'm correct in thinking a flash would be bad here?

Attachments

• DSC9781_ReganTree50.jpg
    DSC9781_ReganTree50.jpg
    571.8 KB · Views: 230
No, a flash would be ideal here. A low-power pop of flash would illuminate the child, and a relatively long shutter speed will allow you to get the nice 'bokeh' balls that you want. The flash will freeze any small movement, and a shutter-speed of 1/30 or so will allow the lights 'form' nicely.

Yet the use of a flash here I think would take away from the low light effect this image has...

Sure it would spoil it if the flash was over-powered, but not if the flash power is correct.

And you need a catchlight in the model's eyes.

Obviously not a toddler, but just an example to show you what TiredIron is talking about; balancing flash with ambient light:

_MG_4189-Edit.jpg
by tltichy, on Flickr
iso 800
1/80th
f/1.2​
For that shot the camera was set to expose for the ambient and the flash was bounced off the wall/ceiling behind me and to the left.

Thanks very much, guys. I have an SB700 to go with my D300 and 35mm f1.8. Do I use flash exposure compensation to reduce the flash?