Cleaning lenses and cleaning filters

PJcam

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Which is the best for cleaning lenses and filters, soft brush, cloth and lens cleaning solution or both?

What should we not do?

What you should not do is clean them. Seriously. Keep your fingers off the glass, any dust on the glass, just blow it off. The front of the lens does not need to be spotlessly clean.

If you have been somewhere noxious - a beach, perhaps - salt spray needs to be cleaned off but very carefully as it will contain fine sand. For that I would use a soft brush followed by my breath and a soft cloth.

Thank you for your advice John, as a beginner I would have used a soft cloth and cleaning solution or a soft brush for dust.

I am going to get some filters, CPL and others, the CPL I will probably leave on and just change when circumstances need me to.

Excellent advice, would this apply to filters also? I would image it is easier to finger mark a filter easier than a lens.

Which is the best for cleaning lenses and filters, soft brush, cloth and lens cleaning solution or both?

What should we not do?
Proper lens handling is foremost. When you change lenses, beware of any airborne dust. Don't allow any dust particles to enter the open camera body. Same for the back end of lenses. Keep them covered at all times. Do not touch the rear element or the mirror. Keep your fingers out of the light box.

Shooting in dusty conditions: Don't do it.

Use a very soft brush to knock off the larger particles of lint from the lens. If you get (you probably will get) fingerprints on the front element, use a cotton swab lightly moistened with distilled water. Do not use any drops of any liquid on the lens. You will use two, three, or more cotton swabs, (both ends) but they are cheap.