Client from 5 years ago.

greggphoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I had a client whose wedding I did 5 years ago. I was just starting out and just wanted more for my portfolio.
It was a family member of mine and his now wife. No contract signed however a decent bit was paid. The average rate of a shoot and burn. I told them I would be happy to make an album for them. I provided them with fully edited and airbrushed images, a disc with all the images and album layouts for their approval.

Have not heard a peep from them in 5 years. All of a sudden, girl wants me to just print the album. She doesn't remember the layouts, admits that it has been 5 years and they haven't selected so much as 1 photo to change in the layouts. (She is not even sure she has the disc or layouts anymore).

Would it be considered wrong to at the very least ask them to pay for printing costs of the album now that it has been 5 years?! I am now an actual professional with contracts and my time is pretty valuable. I still have the layouts and the pictures but it will cost me several hundred dollars to print them an album.

Thoughts? Other professionals how would you handle this or have you had something like this happen before?

~G

This seems like an extreme case, time-wise, and I would very definitely charge for this.

If they've already paid you to print the album, I don't think it is fair to charge them a second time for that work simply because they took a long time to get back to you. It may be fair for you to charge them a small fee for the extra work they've caused you, but I would think it would be somewhat minimal if you already have the layout done.

I had a client whose wedding I did 5 years ago. I was just starting out and just wanted more for my portfolio.