Close Up Shooting Advice Required

Olympus E300

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.fsharpphotography.ca
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey all...I'm brand new here! In fact, I'm quite new to photography in general (in regards to more of the high end equipment). I've taken tons of pictures with cheap, pocket cameras but I got myself a new camera two years ago and I've only recently acquired some accessories to go with it. I want to be as universal as possible regarding where and what I shoot but my main objective is to :

A) Shoot decent portraits of my daughter as she grows up (we're expecting a second in July)
B) Wildlife photography (big game mostly such as white tail and black bear)
C) Close up (insects, flowers, ect...)

I pretty much have the equipment for my first two objectives (I think), however, I'm stuck on what I should aquire in order to complete my 3rd goal. Which lens would be best for me? Should I consider extension tubes? How about a macro ring light? I would think that it would be a accessory for close up shooting but which one is best? Here is a list of my current setup :

Camera : Olympus Evolt E-300 DSLR
Flash : FL-50R wireless TTL
Lenses (Zuiko) : 14-45mm, 40-150mm & 70-300mm
Tripod (legs) : Monfrotto 190XPROB
Tripod (head) : Monfrotto 486RC2
Filters : Sigma 58mm DG ultra violet
Accessories : Vivitar wireless shutter release, Zuiko EC-20 2X teleconverter, flash diffuser
Case : Pelican 1550

Thanks for your suggestions!!
- Daniel