Close ups AND group shots

bananas13

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi I'm new to the forum and I have a couple of questions.

My name's Kaylee and I'm a Photography BFA student who also owns my own small portrait business to make extra cash while I'm in school. I plan on opening a full-on studio after I graduate.

Anyway, I've gotten several requests to shoot weddings and I want to have the best possible lens for the most versatility.

I have a Canon Digital Rebel XS with the standard 18-55mm and I bought a 50mm f/1.4 (which I use for basically everything).

The issue is, if I'm going to be shooting weddings, I'm going to need more than just a portrait lens. I'm going to want to do close ups of the rings, flowers, little details, etc. BUT I also want to do group shots and such (wide angle, perhaps?). Basically, I'm lost.

I have a budget of around $500 to get a lens that can do both of these things. Can anyone help me out?

Well I mean if you plan on doing weddings and want to do serious professional things for people you are going to need good gear and will most likely need a bigger budget. a 24-70 or 16-35 or 17-40 those are nice lenses that are wide zooms. A 70-200 would also be a nice addition. Another body is good for weddings since you can't be wasting time switching lenses. You might want to take a look at renting lenses/bodies. GL
TJ

Hey welcome to the forum let me ask you something.
If your really want to get involve on the wedding business ask yourself first. Are you ready? and please be honest with your answer.

Ive been seen the same question from different persons back and forward.

Sorry for my honest response but if you are here asking for what kind of lens you need for a weeding I think that you are not ready for take a wedding responsibility. Photography is my second Job do the fact that living only from photography is kind of hard but I still a professional photographer and I will never go to the wedding