Colors of the subject too intense?

Gerardo_G

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This is a work of mine I photographed. I tried to give life to the subject by showing intense colors. Can you please answer this for me? Does the artwork look good with those intense colors or are they too intense for it to look good?

uc

I'm an amateur with an amateur camera. I probably didn't use the best settings:

Camera: Canon PowerShot A1200
Lens: 5-20 mm
Shot at 5 mm (shot wide open)
Exposure: Auto exposure, 1/6 sec, f/2.8, ISO 200
Flash: Off, Did not fire
Focus: Single, Manual AF point selection, with a depth of field of from 0.9 m to infinity.
AF Area Mode: Single-point AF

Then I used Photoshop to edit things like brightness, contrast, exposure, intensity, and saturation.

If you want to share any other feedback please don't forget to answer as well the question at the top of this thread.

Thanks in advance :).

Last edited:
The colors appear to be accurate to life, so unless you're thinking of re-making this art with different colors, I think the photograph should stand as it is, color-wise at least. If you made significant adjustments to the colors, then my question is; are these colors true to life?

As far as the photograph is concerned, I think the oblique angle, stray reflections, and an extra shadow on the wall are not doing this artwork any favors. I'd say try some different angles, watch the reflections, and experiment with the lighting.

If your camera will capture the Raw file, you can more easily adjust the colors as needed to accurately depict the true colors.

The subject is red and yellow; they just look a bit duller in the unedited picture.