Complete beginner question?

MAsato

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I don't know if this is the right section or not, I apologize if it isn't! Though I'm kind of rushing this, and trying to find anyone to answer my question. :(

I really want to get into photography, but the problem is I don't know cameras. I been shown a camera and I stumbled upon one as well, but I don't know what would be worth getting.
I want something that will be worth the money, and like a GOOD camera, something I can take to class or just shoot anywhere. Something that will last me a very long time, but I need to keep it under $800.

I found this, can anyone tell me if this would be a good choice? Also, is it possible to increase the zoom from 55m?
Canon EOS Rebel T3i Digital SLR Camera w/EF-S 18-55 Lens - 5169B003 - WolfCamera.com

And I've been shown this?
Amazon.com: Nikon COOLPIX P510 16.1 MP CMOS Digital Camera with 42x Zoom and "GPS" (Black) + EN-EL5 Battery + 9pc Bundle 16GB Deluxe Accessory Kit: Electronics

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Go to both Canon's & Nikon's website, and download the tech specs for all their 'bridge' cameras. Then go line-by-line through those specs. If you understand it, move on. If you don't, research it until you do.

Once you understand why a given feature is included on a camera, make a list of what you MUST have in a camera, and find the one that fills that list for the lowest price. That's the camera for you.

Honestly, I'm a complete dummy to all this, and I should research the stuff, which I know I need to do a lot of. Which this may all sound bad and making me look bad, but I'm mostly looking into if someone could recommend a camera or let me know of the ones I posted are any good? like if they, themselves would buy it?