Computer?

Goose85

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
So I am VERY new to photography, and I am wanting to do more editing or at least attempting to edit on my computer. But I just don't think its good enough.

If I wanted to buy a new computer, what would you suggest? Also, what types of things to look for in a computer? (amount of RAM, processor)

Note:
- I don't care if its a laptop or desk top
- I don't want to spend too much
- I don't care if its Mac or PC, but I do prefer PC as its all I've owned AND find Mac's are a little too much money
- I don't need to best of the best, just something that will work.

Any suggesttions would be much appreciated!

Thanks

The one thing you need to make sure you have is plenty of RAM. Can you tell us what you have right now? Adobe Photoshop can be very resourse intensive, so you need RAM, probably 8 GB is enough, as far as I know that's the standard, after that, just have a standard video card, you don't need anything crazy, just decent.

Again, let us know what you have, you may just need to upgrade your system.

You can always go to best buy and look at what they have on sale at the time. Below is a list of what you would want to see:
-4gigs of RAM or more
-2.4ghz dual core processor or better.
-the bigger the hard drive the better. They fill up fast

PC would be your cheaper option. Mac your going to be paying a premium for it. My advise is to spend the extra money and get the better specs on the computer. It will last longer and be more reliable.

Asus and Lenovo are my personal favorite two brands for PC's in terms of reliability and build quality. Others failed on me a lot. Again that's only my experience with other brand computers. Other people will have different opinions.

Desktop will also be your cheaper solution to get better specs. Personally I think it's easier to do work on a desktop anyway.