Considering returning my Canon T3...

mev1205

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey everyone, first post on the forum. I saw another post recently about the Canon T3 and thought I would make my own thread so as not to hijack his.

I recently got a T3 for Christmas as a bundle with a camera bag, 8gb card, 18-55mm IS lens, and 75-300mm lens all for around ~$540, tax included. I'm a beginner DSLR user, and for shelling out this type of money I want to make sure that I'm buying the best product for the money.

Now I got the bundle for a great price, but what concerns me is that image quality of the T3 itself might be subpar to similar products. I've taken some pictures that have turned out great, but others (especially at night, where it doesn't seem to do so well) haven't turned out that well and seem to produce alot of noise. In addition, I've been told that the 75-300mm lens isn't that great because you need IS to get a good shot at that distance, so that's not the greatest selling factor on the bundle.

I go back to college on Sunday across the country and I'd like to make a decision before then on whether or not to return this. I'd like to spend less than $700 (less if possible, money is precious in college), including tax/shipping/decent camera bag/8gb SD card, and I've been considering a few options, including the T3i, T2i (why is this more expensive than the T3i?), Nikon D3200, and the Nikon D5100. I've looked at all the various reviews but they seem to meld together after awhile, so if anyone could provide some feedback as to whether or not I should keep/return the bundle I'd love to hear it, thanks.

Last edited:
Keep the camera and learn how to use it. All the problems you bring up can be handled by learning to use the camera.

Noise can be reduced by not using too high of an ISO and getting the exposure correct, you might have to use a tripod to stabilize the camera for longer exposures.