Constructive Criticsm on TPF

What I think we really need is a ticket system -- limiting how many C&C debate threads members are allowed to take part in per year. That way we can get a bit of fresh air in these debate threads ;)

Though I'm willing to waver the tickets for more backlitshots

After reading every post on the thread (word for word, Green and Red LOL) I want to thank everyone who have given me HONEST C&C. I have been shooting for 14 months. Fourteen months from now I hope to be better in part to HONEST C&C, hopefully on TPF.:thumbup:
jorge

After reading every post on the thread (word for word, Green and Red LOL) I want to thank everyone who have given me HONEST C&C. I have been shooting for 14 months. Fourteen months from now I hope to be better in part to HONEST C&C, hopefully on TPF.:thumbup:
jorge

I generally like to give and receive more constructive criticism.

This has been said before in more detail by much more trustworthy and respected members than myself but let me repeat my own version here.

The best ways to get better and more honest C/C
:

1) Don't identify with the picture. Don't say 'This is the best picture I have ever taken of my only child. My mother held onto life with a terrible wasting disease until she could die holding this picture. What do you think of it?' or something close. Just post the damn thing. Say what you wanted to get across and maybe say something about the conditions.

2) Post one or two at a time - preferably one rather than posting 4, 5, 6, 7 or even 8 greatly different pictures and asking for C/C.

3) Signal your willingness to take comments by picking out a questionable point in the image and asking about it. That gives viewers a place to start and a hint that you won't start crying about any negative comments.

4) Post your best stuff.
  • Don't post 10 variations of the same picture; no one, and I mean no photographer, really gives a crap about 10 variations on your baby's smile.